Activity Overview

Canada has three main levels of government: federal, provincial, and municipal. The federal level is responsible for anything that impacts the country as a whole, such as taxes, the military, immigration, and the trading of goods. There are 10 provinces and 3 territories in Canada, and each of them has their own provincial government, which is responsible for things such as education, highways, healthcare, and agriculture. The last level of government is the municipal level, which is specific to cities and towns. This level of government is responsible for things such as public parks and libraries, public transportation, garbage removal, and local police and fire services.

For this activity, students will create a 3 cell spider map that illustrates and describes the roles that each level of government plays.

Template and Class Instructions

(These instructions are completely customizable. After clicking "Copy Activity", update the instructions on the Edit Tab of the assignment.)

Due Date:

Objective: Create a 3 cell spider map illustrating and describing the 3 levels of Canadian government.

Student Instructions:

  1. Click “Start Assignment”.
  2. Write a level of government in each heading.
  3. Create an illustration that represents each heading using appropriate scenes, characters, and items.
  4. Write a short summary of each heading/level in the space below the illustration.

Lesson Plan Reference


(You can also create your own on Quick Rubric.)

More Storyboard That Activities

Canadian Government

*(This Will Start a 2-Week Free Trial - No Credit Card Needed)
© 2022 - Clever Prototypes, LLC - All rights reserved.