NZ Wars
Updated: 6/18/2020
NZ Wars
This storyboard was created with

Storyboard Text

  • Start of the wars 1843
  • The Northern Wars 1845-46
  • Taranaki Wars 1860-63
  • In 1843 the Maoris started what would become the New Zealand Wars. The Maoris started the wars because they realised that the treaty wasn't fair for them.
  • Gate Pa 1864
  • On the 11th of March Hone Heke Pokai and his allies attacked a town and burned New Zealand's first capital to the ground. This was the start of the Northen wars. During the Northern wars 94 Maori and 82 British died.
  • Te Kooti's War 1868-72
  • During the Taranaki wars 196 Maori died and only 64 British soldiers died. The first Taranaki war was over land ownership which took place between the Maori and The New Zealand government
  • End of the wars 1872
  • The Gate Pa was about land ownership just like the Taranaki wars expect The Maori defeated the British. 31 British soldiers were killed and 80 more were wounded. Whereas only 15 Maori died.
  • Te Kootis war was one of the last New Zealand Wars every fought. For nearly four years Te Kooti waged war against Maori and colonial troops. 399 Maori people died in Te Kooti's war and 212 British soldiers died.
  • On the 15th of February The New Zealand wars finally ended. In total 2154 Maori warriors died and 745 British Soldiers died.
Over 14 Million Storyboards Created
Storyboard That Family