Human Development Project
Updated: 2/4/2020
Human Development Project

Storyboard Text

  • Stage 1: Trust vs MistrustAn infant develops a sense of basic trust if their needs are met.
  • Stage 2: Autonomy vs. Shame and DoubtA toddler learns to do things for themselves or they doubt their own abilities.
  • Stage 3: Initiative vs. GuiltA child learns to initiate tasks and carry out tasks or they feel guilty about their efforts to be independent.
  • Mommy! I cleaned my room. Can I get a cookie?
  • Pre-conventional Morality: Self - InterestAt this age, effort is made to secure greatest benefit for oneself.
  • Conventional Morality: Authority and Social OrderAt this stage, children uphold laws and rules to maintain social order and gain social approval.
  • Do your worksheets, kids.
  • Stage 4: Competence vs. InferiorityChildren learn the pleasure of applying themselves to tasks, or they feel inferior.
  • Yes, Miss. Jackson
  • Stage 5: Identity vs. Role ConfusionTeens try to find their sense of self by trying on different roles, or they become confused about who they are.
  • What do you want to do with your life?
  • I don't know! I don't even know who I am yet!
  • Stage 6: Intimacy vs. IsolationYoung adults struggle to form close relationships and to gain intimate love or they feel socially isolated.
  • Uhh . . .
  • Do you want to go on a date with me?