New Zealand Wars | Ayesha Berry-Barnes
Updated: 6/23/2020
New Zealand Wars | Ayesha Berry-Barnes
This storyboard was created with

Storyboard Text

  • The Musket Wars | 1807
  • FIRE!!
  • Boyd Massacre | 1809
  • AHHHH!!!
  • Ngapuhi Raids Across North-Island | 1818-25
  • The Musket Wars were are series of thousands of wars, large scale and small, with which were fought among the Maori for the likes of property and land.
  • Treaty Of Waitangi | 1840
  • The occurrence of the quite infamous; "Boyd-Massacre," took place in Northern New Zealand; with Maori residents of Whangaroa Harbour killing and continuing to eat between six and seventy Europeans.
  • Coronation Of King Potatau | 1858
  • By 1818 Ngapuhi had acquired an abundance of muskets, which led onto Hongi Hika and Te Morenga alike to lead a successful raid across the Bay Of Plenty.
  • Te Kooti's War | 1868-72
  • The treaty of Waitangi, which was signed on the six of February 1840, was a treaty with the purpose of allowing British-settlers and Maori alike to live together in New Zealand under set rules and laws.
  • It was in 1857 that Potatau agreed to be king, and continued to be crowned and anointed at Ngaruawahia in 1858. With his crown in hand many North-Island chiefs laid their land to him.
  • Te Kooti's war was to be one of the last wars on New-Zealand land. The war was fought in the East-Coast region and the forest filled North Island and Bay Of Plenty. This conflict in particular was sparked to life when Te Kooti returned to New Zealand after two years of internment of the Chatham Islands.
Over 14 Million Storyboards Created
Storyboard That Family