Updated: 3/11/2020

Storyboard Text

  • The First and Second Centuries
  • You can't get forgiveness again
  • The Third to Fifth Centuries
  • your sin is forgiven, again
  • The Sixth to Ninth Centuries
  • You're free of sin
  • Only people who were baptised were part of the church. Baptised persons received forgiveness from participating in Eucharist, prayer, almsgiving and fasting;But could only recieve forgiveness once
  • Twelfth and Thirteenth
  • You're free of sin, go help those in need
  • A formal ritual for forgiveness of sin was created. It was a public ritual performed by the bishop or priest. It was reserved for bigger sins and sins could be held onto for 3-15 years.
  • Sixteenth Century
  • Its a sacrament
  • This is when people preferred to seek private rituals for forgiveness with monks.
  • Twentieth Century
  • go forth and get reconciled, for God is merciful
  • This is where patterns of reconciliation was created. the confession(person confession), Contrition(person is sorry), Absolution(person is forgiven) and Satisfaction(Priest gives person something to atone)
  • Confession/Penance was declared a sacrament of the church
  • The II Vatican revised the sacrament, it emphasised gods love and mercy, The opportunity for for forgiveness and the importance of community