Succession storyboard
Updated: 3/9/2021
Succession storyboard

Storyboard Text

  • When they die, they fall to the bottom of the ocean, becoming prey to multiple different organisms.
  • After a whale passes away, their body becomes a food source for several different organisms
  • The order in which this happens is called succession
  • At this stage, all the animals that live on the sea floor get first dibs on the whale
  • This takes around 1-2 years.
  • The first stage of succession is the scavenger stage.
  • Next stage is the Opportunist stage
  • This can take around 2-5 years.
  • In this stage, smaller planktonic animals begin to feed on the body.
  • The final stage is Sulfophilic stage.
  • These animals will receive energy from the whale bones for up to 50 years.
  • At this mussels, clams, and tapeworms begin to use the bones from the whale as energy.