Questions About Remote Learning? Click Here

North Vs. South Events for May Option 3
Updated: 5/22/2020
North Vs. South Events for May Option 3
This storyboard was created with

Storyboard Text

  • The Election of 1848
  • The Fugitive Slave Act
  • Slave!! There's a runaway slave!
  • The Kansas-Nebraska Act
  • We don't have the need for slaves on our property
  • The 1848 United States presidential election was the 16th quadrennial presidential election, held on Tuesday, November 7, 1848. The election mainly introduced the Free-Soil Party whom believed that new territories should be free of slaves
  • The Lincoln-Douglas Debate
  • Abraham Lincoln
  • Passed on September 18, 1850 by Congress, The Fugitive Slave Act of 1850 was part of the Compromise of 1850. The act required that slaves be returned to their owners, even if they were in a free state.
  • The Election of 1860
  • John C. Breckinridge
  • The Kansas-Nebraska Act was passed by the U.S. Congress on May 30, 1854. It allowed people in the territories of Kansas and Nebraska to decide for themselves whether or not to allow slavery within their borders.
  • The Confederate States of America
  • The Lincoln–Douglas debates were a series of seven debates between Abraham Lincoln, the Republican Party candidate for the United States Senate from Illinois. When Lincoln and Douglas debated the slavery extension issue in 1858, therefore, they were addressing the problem that had divided the nation into two hostile camps and that threatened the continued existence of the Union.
  • The 1860 United States presidential election was the 19th quadrennial presidential election. It was held on Tuesday, November 6, 1860.The 1860 presidential election turned on a number of issues including secession; the relationship between the federal government, states, and territories; and slavery and abolition.
  • John Bell
  • The Confederate States of America commonly referred to as the Confederacy, was an unrecognized republic in North America that existed from 1861 to 1865. The Confederacy was originally formed by seven secessionist slave-holding states—South Carolina, Mississippi, Florida, Alabama, Georgia, Louisiana, and Texas.
Over 13 Million Storyboards Created
Storyboard That Family