The Branches of the Government
Updated: 2/4/2020
The Branches of the Government
This storyboard was created with

Storyboard Text

  • Senate: Members serve six year terms.
  • Legislative Branch: has the power to make laws
  • House of Representatives: members serve two year terms.
  • President: I can accept or veto laws
  • Branches of Government
  • Congress: I have the ability to override the president's veto. I can also decide how to spend money from taxes, declare war, raise an army or navy, pay government debts, and grant citizenship.
  • The president is part of the Executive Branch. A president is the chief commander in the nation's military forces. However, a president must be 35 years old and a natural-born citizen of America.
  • Executive Branch: carries out the laws
  • The Executive Branch also has departments to carry out its duties.
  • Senate: We have put you in trial to see if you are guilty or not.
  • The House of Representatives: The Constitution gives us the right to impeach you due to you committing crimes listed in the Constitution.
  • There are two main sets of inferior federal courts which are the district courts and the appellate courts.
  • Judicial Branch: protects the Constitution
  • Cases involving federal laws are first heard at district courts.
  • The Supreme Court's decisions are final. The Supreme Court gets thousands of reviews to review each year but only a hundred of them get reviewed.
  • Courts that review cases are called appellate courts. These decisions can then be appealed to the Supreme Court.
Over 12 Million Storyboards Created
Storyboard That Family