Questions About Remote Learning? Click Here

Ms. Morosan (Buddhism)
Updated: 1/10/2020
Ms. Morosan (Buddhism)
This storyboard was created with

Storyboard Text

  • Buddhism is a religion that begun in the 6th century, B.C.E. in India.
  • Buddhism
  • It began from the teachings of Buddha, Siddhartha Gautama, who discovered knowledge, after years of thinking to find meaning in life.
  • Buddhism also had truths and teachings.
  •  Siddhartha Gautama born between the 6th and 4th B.C., in the Himalayan foothills of Nepal. He was the son of a wealthy king. He was predicted to become the emperor of India or a very holy man, but his father really wanted him to be the former. Siddhartha's father kept him isolated in a palace. For twenty-nine years, Siddhartha lived in joy, secure from the smallest issues from the outside world. Shortly after, Siddhartha left the palace for a short trip; he was amazed from what he saw, after that trip, he took another, but this time he met a holy man. This holy man was taught to find spiritual life in middle of the great size of human suffering. Siddhartha was very inspired by the holy man, and left the palace for good. When Gautama reached the highest state of enlightenment (Nirvana), which means blowing out of the flames of desire. With his Nirvana, he became the Buddha, (the awakened one). Siddhartha being awoke by realizing that all distraught is brought by suffering, he then realized how to approach suffering. He knew no one should bathe in luxury or restrain themselves from food and comfort, he thought everyone should live in moderation, he called this the middle way. Next, he reported a path going beyond suffering called the "Four Noble Truths." The "Four Noble Truths" are beliefs. The first noble truth is, life is suffering. The second noble truth is, suffering comes from wants and desires. The third noble truth is remove the wants to achieve nirvana. The last noble truth is to follow the "Eight-fold Path." If you follow the "Four Noble Truths" it will help stop the cycle of suffering and help one reach Nirvana. The "Eight-fold Path" are teachings. The first on is right view, two is right intentions, three is right speech, four is right actions, five is right lively-hood, six is right effort, seven is right mindfulness, lastly, eight is right concentration. After the death of Siddhartha, his followers collected his sermons/sayings. The monasteries that grew during Siddhartha's lifetime, grew and multiplied throughout China and East Asia. A monastery is a community of men and women, who are monks and nuns, who've chosen to leave society, forming a new community devoted to religious practices. For a while, Buddhism was uncommon in India itself, and only a few groups of monks and nuns traveled aimlessly on the country-side, consider quietly in nature. Shortly after, in the 3rd B.C., an Indian king named Ashoka grew problems by the wars he had fought and converted to Buddhism. He sent monks and nuns far and wide to spread the practice. After India, where Buddhism originally started, the Buddhist religion spread across Asia and then soon, throughout the world. Buddhism is connected to Hinduism (religion), because they both started in India, they are both polytheistic, they have karma, which decides on their future path, after they die, and lastly they both have dharma, which is the nature of reality for both religions.
Over 14 Million Storyboards Created
Storyboard That Family