Constitutional Storyboard

Constitutional Storyboard

More Options: Make a Folding Card

Storyboard Description

A storyboard depicting the events preceding the signing of the constitution.

Storyboard Text

  • Due to Parliament passing the Sugar, Stamp, and Townsend Acts, the colonists were upset because they were being taxed with no representation in Parliament. This series of events was the buildup to the Revolution, which would eventually lead to the Declaration of Independence.
  • After the British had placed a tax on imported tea, the Sons of Liberty retaliated with The Boston Tea Party to show the British that they were unhappy.
  • This will teach those stuck up redcoats not to mess with the Patriots!
  • The Battle of Lexington and Concord, the first battle of the Revolution, began with a single gunshot in 1775. This was America's war for independence, one that they would later win.
  • During the Revolution, the Articles of Confederation were ratified as a plan for self-government after the Revolution.
  • Following the Revolution, the colonists needed some sort of government. They didn't want a single source of power like GB had though. This is where the Separation of Powers came from.
  • The Constitutional Convention of 1787 was held in order to create a strong central government for the newly United States. Though it was quite rough due to heavy debate between the Federalists and Anti-Federalists over the power that the government should have. One of the problems was how many votes states would have in congress, this was settled by the Virginia Plan, which was voted for over the New Jersey Plan. Other plans that passed were the Great Compromise and the 3/5 Compromise. This settled most delegates issues with population counting in votes. The Constitution of the United States was ratified on September 17, 1787. It was later followed by the Bill of Rights in 1791, which gave all US citizens the rights that came with the first 10 amendments.
  • Executive Branch - This is the branch of government that holds the power and actually governs the nation and the separate states, this branch has the most employees of the three.
  • The Separation of Powers was used to create a three-branch system of government in the United States, called the Executive, Judicial, and Legislative Branches respectively.
  • Legislative Branch - This is the branch of government that creates and votes on bills and laws. It consists of the House of Representatives and the Senate, which together form Congress.
  • Judicial Branch - This is the branch the interprets and applies the laws passed by the Legislative Branch. It consists of the Supreme Court, Court of Appeals, and District Courts.
Explore Our Articles and Examples

Try Our Other Websites!

Photos for Class – Search for School-Safe, Creative Commons Photos (It Even Cites for You!)
Quick Rubric – Easily Make and Share Great-Looking Rubrics
abcBABYart – Create Custom Nursery Art