Early Cold War Storyboard Timeline Of Events


More Options: Make a Folding Card

Storyboard Description

This storyboard does not have a description.

Storyboard Text

  • United Nations
  • Churchill's famous "Iron Curtain" speech
  • Truman Doctrine
  • The United Nations was formed June 1945.Took place at Westminister Central Hall in London, England.It was an organization to promote international cooperation & to create & maintain international order.
  • Marshall Plan
  • Churchill's famous "Iron Curtain" speech took place March 5, 1946.His speech was so important because it announced the beginning of the Cold War. However, Churchill also used it as a platform to deliver his hope that the United States and Great Britain could work more closely together to police a post-war world.
  • NATO Pact formed
  • Truman's Doctrine took place on March 12, 1947.It was informally extended to become the basis of the Cold War policy of containment.By sending military aid to friendly nations it set an example for the principle of collective security building up a network of allies and friendly states to which the US gave military.Fact:The British were experiencing serious financial difficulties following WW2 and could no longer afford the expense of providing military aid.
  • Warsaw Pact Formed
  • The Marshall Plan took place on June 5, 1947.President Truman signed the Economic Recovery Act of 1948. It became known as the Marshall Plan, named for Secretary of State GeorgeMarshall, who in 1947 proposed that the United States provide economic assistance to restore the economic infrastructure of postwar Europe.It was important because it was an American initiative to aid Western Europe, in which the United States gave $13 billion in economic support to help rebuild Western European economies after the end of World War II.
  • NATO formed on April 4, 1949.NATO was the first peacetime military alliance the United States entered into outside of the Western Hemisphere.Nations included were Belgium, Canada, Denmark, France, Iceland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, the United Kingdom, and the United States.
  • The Warsaw Pact formed May 14, 1955.Nations included were Albania, Bulgaria, Czechoslovakia, East Germany, Hungary, Poland, and Romania.The Warsaw pact was a collective defense treaty among eight communist states of Central and Eastern Europe in existence during the Cold War.
Explore Our Articles and Examples

Try Our Other Websites!

Photos for Class – Search for School-Safe, Creative Commons Photos (It Even Cites for You!)
Quick Rubric – Easily Make and Share Great-Looking Rubrics
abcBABYart – Create Custom Nursery Art