More Options: Make a Folding Card

Storyboard Description

This storyboard does not have a description.

Storyboard Text

  • What led to Confederation
  • Canadians believed that the civil war in America was a result of a weak government. This inspired the desire for a strong central government among BNA (British North American) colonies. 
  • Confederation Act
  • Ontario
  • New Brunswick
  • Quebec
  • Nova Scotia
  • Ruperts Land Act
  • Ruperts Land Act  (1868) This act sold Ruperts Land to Canada. Before this act, Ruperts Land belonged to the Hudson Bay Company.  
  • After Confederation
  • N.W.T (1870) Manitoba (1870) British Columbia (1871) PEI (1873) Yukon (1898) Saskatchewan (1905) Alberta (1905) Newfoundland and Labrador (1949) Nunavut (1999)
  • On July 1st, 1867 these four provinces of Canada united.  
  • Who joined, and why
  • The Northwest Territories was created because it was simply the remaining land from the Ruperts Land Act. Manitoba was created when Louis Riel and other Metis people negotiated with the Canadian government becuase they wanted to protect their land/rights. Both BC and PEI joined because they wanted financial support from the Canadian government. The Yukon was created when Canada bought the land to prevent a potential American takeover during the gold rush. 
  • Who joined and why pt 2
  • Both Saskatchewan and Alberta joined Confederation because they had big populations and wanted taxes so they could build facilities such as schools. Newfoundland joined because they wanted money, and because the Canadian government promised that they'd help to build roads and railways. Nunavut, the most recent territory, was created because the Inuit people wanted control over their land. 
  • After Confederation, 6 more provinces and 3 more territories joined Canada! 
Explore Our Articles and Examples

Try Our Other Websites!

Photos for Class   •   Quick Rubric   •   abcBABYart   •   Storyboard That's TPT Store