Duck's Dissolution Model

Duck's Dissolution Model

More Options: Make a Folding Card

Storyboard Description

This storyboard does not have a description.

Storyboard Text

  • Stage 1: Intra-Psychic This is when a person admits to himself or herself that they are dissatisfied with their relationship, and they spend a lot of time thinking about the reasons for this dissatisfaction and possible ways forward.
  • "Im starting to feel dissatisfied in this relationship"
  • Stage 2: Dyadic  Occurs when a person confronts their partner and voices their dissatisfaction. At this stage there are a lot of complaints coming from the partner initiating the break-up. The dissatisfied partner also rethinks the alternatives to their current relationships. 
  • "I'm not happy in this relationship"
  • Stage 3: Social They involve friends and relatives and make their distress public. According to Duck, once the conflict reaches this stage, it is more difficult for a couple to mend their relationship: friends and family will take sides, intervene in the couple's relationship and offer advice.
  • "Girl get rid, you can do better"
  • "I'm thinking of leaving Carl"
  • Stage 4: Grave-dressing Having left their partner, both sides construct their version of why their relationship broke down, usually minimising their faults and maximising their partner's, but at the same time trying to show themselves as trustworthy and loyal in order to attract a new partner.
  • "He was a nightmare to live with"
  • "She was a nightmare to be with"
  • Stage 5: Resurrection In 2006, Duck and his colleague Rollie proposed an addition to the model: the resurrection phase. They suggested that at this stage people move beyond the pain and distress associated with ending the relationship, and experience personal growth. 
  • "Ive grown as a person"
Explore Our Articles and Examples

Try Our Other Websites!

Photos for Class   •   Quick Rubric   •   abcBABYart   •   Storyboard That's TPT Store