Browns bay history

Browns bay history
  Copy


More Options: Make a Folding Card




Storyboard Description

This storyboard does not have a description.

Storyboard Text

  • Dr Logan Campbell owned part of the north shore, but then the Stanford fam bought it of him then selling it to Mrs Hammond.
  • Peter Brown bought it in 1876. He built a house on the corner of Clyde rd and Anzac rd. His house was then destroyed by a fire in 1930.
  • In Spring 26 of Sep 1876 before he passed they moved with a horse. Once arrived Browns Bay was covered with tutu. The nearest shopping centre was in Devonport. With only horses as transport.
  • Since there was no school in Browns Bay. A part time one was built on Hyde rd. There had to be at least 10 students to keep the school running. In 1900 there were only half a dozen families living in Browns Bay.
  • Still in 1900 holiday makers travelled by steam boat. So the Browns Family made the first local store and postal services.
  • Post office
  • The growing population started making more shops, a permanent school and churches. At this point Browns Bay was becoming a commercial hub of the East Coast Bays. 
  • Post Office
  • Food town
Explore Our Articles and Examples

Try Our Other Websites!

Photos for Class – Search for School-Safe, Creative Commons Photos (It Even Cites for You!)
Quick Rubric – Easily Make and Share Great-Looking Rubrics
abcBABYart – Create Custom Nursery Art