A Series of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snicket

This book series follows the adventures of three siblings, the Baudelaire orphans; Violet, Klaus, and Sunny. The children become orphans after their parents are killed in a fire at the family mansion. In "The Bad Beginning", they are sent to live with a distant relative named Count Olaf after briefly living with Mr. Poe, a banker in charge of the orphans' affairs. Count Olaf is the stereotypical wicked ‘step guardian’. Not only does he treat the children badly but he also plans to steal their family fortunate which awaits Violet, the oldest, when she turns 18.

In each of the books, Olaf disguises himself, finds the children wherever they are and tries to steal their fortune. This causes him to commit heinous crimes along the way such as; arson, murder, and other misdemeanors.

The children having no one else to turn to and no one who believes them, each develop a distinguishing skill that often helps them in dire situations. Violet becomes the inventor, Klaus becomes the brains, and Sunny’s sharp teeth become a weapon and defense mechanism.

Create a Storyboard
Start My Free Trial
Explore Our Articles and Examples

Try Our Other Websites!

Photos for Class – Search for School-Safe, Creative Commons Photos (It Even Cites for You!)
Quick Rubric – Easily Make and Share Great-Looking Rubrics