Unknown Story
Updated: 2/5/2020
Unknown Story
This storyboard was created with StoryboardThat.com

Storyboard Text

  • President Andrew Jackson (1828)
  • Five Civilized Tribes (1829)
  • Indian Remove Act (1830)
  • The Cherokee Nation (1832)
  • Indian Territory (1834)
  • In 1830 President Jackson pushed the Indian Removal Act through Congress. The act allowed the federal government to pay Native Americans to move west. Some Native Americans refused and most felt they were forced to move their lands.
  • Trail of Tears (1835)
  • The Cherokee however, refused to give up their land. The Cherokee sued the state of Georgia to the Supreme Court. In Worcester v. Georgia (1832), chief John Marshall ruled that Georgia had no right to interfere with the Cherokee. President Jackson supported Georgia's efforts to remove the Cherokee. He declared that he would ignore the Supreme Court.
  • With 7,000 federal troops, General Scott and the U.S. Army threatened to use force if the Cherokee did not leave. Filled with sadness and anger, the Cherokee nation gave in and the long march began West. Around 4,000 Cherokee died from starvation disease, and exposure to brutal weather. Their forced journey West became known as the Trail of Tears.
Over 12 Million Storyboards Created
Storyboard That Family