Timeline Storyboard of the Constitutional Convention

Timeline Storyboard of the Constitutional Convention
You can find this storyboard in the following articles and resources:
Constitution Lesson Plans

What is the Constitutional Convention?

Lesson Plans by Matt Campbell

The United States Constitution has become the most important document ever created in American history. The delegates who met in Philadelphia in 1787 were given the arduous task of creating a government that firmly guaranteed freedom, liberty, and justice. Many of the members of the Constitutional Convention witnessed the incredibly challenging task of declaring independence from Britain and now once again, they were forced to fight to establish freedom. Compromise would become integral in the pursuit of progress in the summer of 1787. The ideals set forth by the new Constitution did not come easy, but as the newly established republic would find out, the years of compromise would lead to a much stronger and unified Union.

Constitutional Convention

Storyboard Description

Constitutional Convention lesson plan - Timeline

Storyboard Text

  • Fifty-Five Delegates Meet in Philadelphia
  • The Constitutional Convention Timeline
  • Northwest Ordinance
  • On May 25th, 1787 fifty-five respected statesmen met in Philadelphia to improve upon the Articles of Confederation. The delegates aimed to improve the Union by strengthening the powers of the federal government.
  • The Federalist Papers Are Published
  • On July 13th, 1787, the government still under the Articles of Confederation passed the Northwest Ordinance. This law allowed for the admission process of new states to enter into the Union.
  • Delaware Becomes the First State to Ratify the Constitution
  • On October 27th, 1787, the Federalist Papers were published. The Federalist Papers were a series of essays written by Alexander Hamilton, James Madison, and John Jay. The essays argued for a stronger central government and were instrumental in the ratification of the Constitution.
  • On December 7th, 1787 Delaware became the first state to ratify the United States Constitution. The first ratification of the Constitution officially established Delaware as the first state under this new American government.
  • New Hampshire Becomes the Ninth State to Ratify the Constitution
  • Nine States Required For Ratification1. Delaware 2. Pennsylvania 3. New Jersey4. Georgia5. Connecticut
  • 6. Massachusetts7. Maryland8. South Carolina9. New Hampshire
  • On June 21st, 1788, New Hampshire became the ninth state to ratify the Constitution. As agreed upon in the Constitutional Convention, once nine of the thirteen states ratified the Constitution, then the new government of the United States was officially the "law of the land".
  • George Washington is Unanimously Elected President
  • On April 30th, 1789 George Washington was unanimously selected as the first President of the United States of America. President Washington, along with Vice President John Adams, were the first leaders of this new nation under the laws of the United States Constitution.
  • Image Attributions:Constitution of the United States of America (https://www.flickr.com/photos/usnationalarchives/3679492168/) - The U.S. National Archives - License: No known copyright restrictions (http://flickr.com/commons/usage/)

Image Attributions

Over 20 Million Storyboards Created
Storyboard That Family