https://www.storyboardthat.com/fr/biography/frederick-douglass

Guide Illustré des Biographies

Frederick Douglass


Frederick Douglass était esclave, écrivain, diplomate, abolitionniste et l'un des militants les plus influents d'American History. Douglass a travaillé avec le président Lincoln pour l'abolitionnisme de l'esclavage et son autobiographie intitulée Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglass, un esclave américain, demeure l'une des œuvres les plus importantes de l'histoire américaine.

Créer un Storyboard

Frederick Douglass

Après avoir échappé à l'esclavage dans le Maryland, Frederick Douglass devint conférencier et leader du mouvement abolitionniste et était connu pour ses brillants discours dans lesquels il condamnait avec éloquence et émotion la pratique de l'esclavage. Il a écrit sur ses propres expériences en tant qu'esclave et son autobiographie, Narrative of the Life de Frederick Douglass , est devenue un best-seller. Ses autres œuvres comprenaient My Bondage et My Freedom et Life and Times de Frederick Douglass .

En plus d'être un abolitionniste de premier plan, Douglass a également soutenu le mouvement pour le droit de vote des femmes et était une bonne amie de la réformatrice sociale et activiste des droits des femmes Susan B. Anthony. Il a été le premier Afro-Américain à être nommé vice-président et est devenu le premier afro-américain US Marshall.

Né dans l'esclavage au Maryland vers 1818, Douglass a été séparé de sa mère dès son plus jeune âge. À l'âge de 12 ans, la femme de son propriétaire d'esclaves a commencé à lui apprendre les bases de la lecture et de l'écriture, ce que son maître désapprouvait, au motif que l'alphabétisation encouragerait un désir de liberté. Bien que son propriétaire d'esclaves ait mis un terme aux cours, Douglass a continué à apprendre par tous les moyens possibles, y compris apprendre des autres enfants du quartier et apprendre à lire et à écrire dans les journaux. Douglass a subi de nombreuses cruautés et punitions physiques, notamment des coups et des coups de fouet.

Pendant qu'il était esclave, Douglass a tenté à plusieurs reprises de s'échapper. En 1837, il rencontre Anna Murray, une femme noire libre, et tombe amoureux d'elle. Son statut de femme libre l’encouragea encore plus dans ses tentatives d’évasion. En 1838, il réussit finalement à s'échapper et son chemin vers la liberté le conduisit le long du «chemin de fer clandestin», un réseau d'abolitionnistes qui aidaient les esclaves à échapper à leurs ravisseurs. Tout le voyage lui a pris moins de 24 heures. Dans The Life and Times de Frederick Douglass , il décrit ses sentiments à son arrivée à New York: «Un nouveau monde s’était ouvert à moi. Si la vie est plus que le souffle et la «ronde rapide du sang», j'ai vécu plus d'un jour que d'une année de vie d'esclave. Une fois installé à New York, Anna Murray l'a rejoint et ils se sont mariés. Ils ont ensuite eu cinq enfants et sont restés ensemble jusqu'à la mort d'Anna en 1882. Après sa mort, Douglass s'est remariée avec Helen Pitts, une activiste sociale blanche.

À New York, Douglass est devenu prédicateur et ses brillantes compétences oratoires ont été évidentes dans ses sermons. Il s'est impliqué dans le mouvement abolitionniste et a commencé à faire des tournées en tant que conférencier - ses voyages l'ont amené aussi loin que le Royaume-Uni et l'Irlande, où il a rencontré le célèbre nationaliste Daniel O'Connell. Alors qu'il était en Angleterre, un groupe d'abolitionnistes britanniques a payé pour acheter sa liberté, et Douglass est devenu légalement libre.

Pendant la guerre civile, Douglass a travaillé pour les unionistes, en tant que recruteur et conseiller de Lincoln. La vision de Douglass sur l'émancipation s'est concrétisée lorsque le 13ème amendement à la Constitution américaine a été ratifié, abolissant finalement l'esclavage en 1865. Un an plus tard, Douglass a pris la parole lors de l'ouverture du Memorial Emancipation.

Douglass est mort chez lui le 20 février 1895, à l'âge de 77 ans. Il était resté actif dans les droits civils jusqu'à sa mort. Tout au long de sa carrière de conférencier et d’écrivain, il était la voix de l’espoir pour les esclaves et les opprimés et on se souvient encore de lui aujourd'hui comme un symbole de justice et d’égalité.

La vérité était que je me sentais esclave, et l'idée de parler aux blancs me pesait. Je n'ai parlé que quelques instants, alors que j'avais un certain degré de liberté et je disais ce que je voulais avec une grande facilité. Depuis ce temps-là, je me suis engagé à plaider la cause de mes frères - avec quel succès, et avec quelle dévotion, je laisse ces personnes au courant de mes travaux.

Créer un Storyboard
Voir Toutes Les Biographies

Comment l'utiliser?

Les storyboards du guide illustré contiennent des informations faciles à digérer et un visuel pour stimuler la compréhension et la rétention. Storyboard That Passionné d'agence étudiante, nous voulons que tous soient des conteurs. Les scénarimages sont un excellent moyen de montrer ce que les élèves ont appris et d’enseigner aux autres.

Étudiant Présentant un Scénario

Utilisez ces guides illustrés comme tremplin pour des projets individuels et à l’échelle de la classe!


  • Attribuer un terme / une personne / un événement à chaque élève pour compléter son propre scénario
  • Créez votre propre guide illustré d'un sujet que vous étudiez
  • Créez un guide illustré pour les personnes de votre classe ou de votre école
  • Affichez des storyboards sur les canaux de médias sociaux de la classe et de l'école.
  • Copiez et éditez ces storyboards et utilisez-les comme références ou visuels
Créer un Storyboard

Prix




Créer un Storyboard
https://www.storyboardthat.com/fr/biography/frederick-douglass
© 2019 - Clever Prototypes, LLC - Tous les droits sont réservés.

Aidez-nous à Partager Storyboard That!

Découvrez nos Articles et Exemples

Essayez nos Autres Sites Web!

Photos for Class - Search for School-Safe, Creative Commons Photos! ( Il Cite même pour vous! )
Quick Rubric - Facilement faire et partager les grandes rubriques de recherche!
Vous préférez une autre langue?

•   (English) Frederick Douglass   •   (Español) Frederick Douglass   •   (Français) Frederick Douglass   •   (Deutsch) Frederick Douglass   •   (Italiana) Frederick Douglass   •   (Nederlands) Frederick Douglass   •   (Português) Frederick Douglass   •   (עברית) פרדריק דאגלס   •   (العَرَبِيَّة) فريدريك دوغلاس   •   (हिन्दी) फ्रेडरिक डगलस   •   (ру́сский язы́к) Фредерик Дуглас   •   (Dansk) Frederick Douglass   •   (Svenska) Frederick Douglass   •   (Suomi) Frederick Douglass   •   (Norsk) Frederick Douglass   •   (Türkçe) Frederick Douglass   •   (Polski) Frederick Douglass   •   (Româna) Frederick Douglass   •   (Ceština) Frederick Douglass   •   (Slovenský) Frederick Douglass   •   (Magyar) Frederick Douglass   •   (Hrvatski) Frederick Douglass   •   (български) Фредерик Дъглас   •   (Lietuvos) Frederikas Daglasas   •   (Slovenščina) Frederick Douglass   •   (Latvijas) Frederiks Duglasss   •   (eesti) Frederick Douglass

Frederick Douglass

Frederick Douglass was a slave, writer, diplomat, abolitionist, and one of the most influential activists in American History. Douglass worked with President Lincoln for the abolitionism of slavery and his autobiography titled, Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglass, an American Slave, remains one of the most significant works in American History.

Start My Free Trial

After escaping slavery in Maryland, Frederick Douglass became a lecturer and leader of the abolitionist movement and was known for his brilliant speeches in which he eloquently and movingly condemned the practice of slavery. He wrote about his own experiences as a slave, and his autobiography, Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglass, became a best seller. His other works included My Bondage and My Freedom and Life and Times of Frederick Douglass.

As well as being a prominent abolitionist, Douglass also supported the women’s suffrage movement and was a good friend of the social reformer and women’s rights activist Susan B. Anthony. He was the first African American to be nominated for Vice President and became first African American US Marshall.

Born into slavery in Maryland in around 1818 (his exact date of birth is unknown), Douglass was separated from his mother at an early age, as was common for infants born into slavery. At the age of 12, the wife of his slaveowner started to teach him basic reading and writing, something that his master disapproved of, on the basis that literacy would encourage a desire for freedom. Although his slave-owner put a stop to the lessons, Douglass continued to learn by whatever means he could, including learning from other children in the neighborhood and teaching himself to read and write from newspapers. During his time as a slave, Douglass suffered many cruelties and physical punishments, including beatings and whippings.

During the time that he was enslaved, Douglass made numerous attempts to escape. In 1837, he met Anna Murray, a free black woman, and fell in love with her. Her status as a free woman encouraged him even more in his attempts to escape. In 1838 he finally managed to escape and his path to freedom took him along the ‘Underground Railroad’, a network of abolitionists who helped slaves escape their captors. He traveled from Maryland, through Delaware, before arriving in Pennsylvania, a free state. From there, he continued to New York. The entire journey took him less than 24 hours. In The Life and Times of Frederick Douglass, he described his feelings when he arrived in New York: ‘A new world had opened up to me. If life is more than breath, and the ‘quick round of blood’, I lived more in one day than in a year of my slave life.’ Once he had settled in New York, Anna Murray joined him and they married. They went on to have five children and stayed together until Anna’s death in 1882. Following her death, Douglass remarried, to Helen Pitts, a white social activist.

In New York, Douglass became a preacher and his brilliant oratory skills were evident in his sermons. He became involved in the abolitionist movement and started to tour as a lecturer – his travels took him as far afield as the United Kingdom and Ireland, where he met the famous nationalist Daniel O’Connell. While he was in England, a group of British abolitionists paid to buy his freedom, and Douglass became legally free.

During the Civil War, Douglass worked for the Unionists, as a recruiter and as an adviser to Lincoln. Douglass’ vision of emancipation was realized when the 13th Amendment to the US Constitution was ratified, finally abolishing slavery in 1865. A year later, Douglass spoke at the opening of the Emancipation Memorial, where he received a standing ovation.

Douglass died at his home on February 20, 1895, at the age of 77. He had remained active in civil rights up until his death. Throughout his career as a speaker and writer he was the voice of hope for the enslaved and oppressed, and is still remembered today as a symbol of justice and equality.

Frederick Douglass Accomplishments

  • Led the abolitionist movement which was rewarded with the ratification of the 13th Amendment in 1863.
  • A talented orator whose speeches included the famous ‘4th July Speech’ in which he described slavery as ‘the great shame and sin of America’.
  • Received a number of political appointments including as an advisor to Lincoln during the Civil War, being the first African American US Marshall and the US Minister to Haiti.

Frederick Douglass Quotes

“The truth was, I felt myself a slave, and the idea of speaking to white people weighed me down. I spoke but a few moments, when I felt a degree of freedom, and said what I desired with considerable ease. From that time until now, I have been engaged in pleading the cause of my brethren - with what success, and with what devotion, I leave those acquainted with my labors to decide.”

“Where justice is denied, where poverty is enforced, where ignorance prevails, and where any one class is made to feel that society is organized to oppress, rob and degrade them, neither persons nor property will be safe.”

“Without struggle, there can be no progress.”

“The white man’s happiness cannot be purchased by the black man’s misery.”
© 2018 - Clever Prototypes, LLC - All rights reserved.

Table of Contents

What is Storyboard That?

Learn more by choosing below:

I'm a...


Create a Storyboard

Help Share Storyboard That!

Looking for More?

Check out the rest of our Teacher Guides and Lesson Plans!

All Teacher Guides and Lesson Plans Ed Tech BlogElementary SchoolMiddle School ELAHigh School ELAForeign LanguageSpecial EdUS History and Social StudiesWorld History

Our Posters on ZazzleOur Lessons on Teachers Pay Teachers
Explore Our Articles and Examples

Try Our Other Websites!

Photos for Class – Search for School-Safe, Creative Commons Photos (It Even Cites for You!)
Quick Rubric – Easily Make and Share Great-Looking Rubrics
abcBABYart – Create Custom Nursery Art
Prefer a different language?

•   (English) Frederick Douglass   •   (Español) Frederick Douglass   •   (Français) Frederick Douglass   •   (Deutsch) Frederick Douglass   •   (Italiana) Frederick Douglass   •   (Nederlands) Frederick Douglass   •   (Português) Frederick Douglass   •   (עברית) פרדריק דאגלס   •   (العَرَبِيَّة) فريدريك دوغلاس   •   (हिन्दी) फ्रेडरिक डगलस   •   (ру́сский язы́к) Фредерик Дуглас   •   (Dansk) Frederick Douglass   •   (Svenska) Frederick Douglass   •   (Suomi) Frederick Douglass   •   (Norsk) Frederick Douglass   •   (Türkçe) Frederick Douglass   •   (Polski) Frederick Douglass   •   (Româna) Frederick Douglass   •   (Ceština) Frederick Douglass   •   (Slovenský) Frederick Douglass   •   (Magyar) Frederick Douglass   •   (Hrvatski) Frederick Douglass   •   (български) Фредерик Дъглас   •   (Lietuvos) Frederikas Daglasas   •   (Slovenščina) Frederick Douglass   •   (Latvijas) Frederiks Duglasss   •   (eesti) Frederick Douglass