https://www.storyboardthat.com/fr/mythology/bastet

Guide Illustré de la Mythologie

Mythologie Égyptienne


Bastet


Bastet est la déesse de la grossesse, le protecteur des jeunes pharaons et la déesse des chats. Elle est représentée avec la tête d'un chat, et elle prend habituellement un sistrum.

Créer un Storyboard


Bastet a été représenté à l'origine comme une lionne, mais au fil des années, elle est devenue plus petite féline dans son apparence. Elle est aussi passée d'une déesse vengeuse à une divinité beaucoup plus bénigne. Dans les premières années, elle a été associée à la propagation de la peste comme punition, mais cette association a disparu au fil du temps, ainsi que son apparition comme habitation. Les Égyptiens vénéraient les habitations parce qu'ils s'occupaient de rats, de souris et d'autres vermines. Plus important encore, ils ont également effrayé les serpents qui ont aidé à protéger les cultures et les maisons. En fait, Bastet a été accusé d'avoir tué Apep, un grand serpent et un archange ennemi de Ra. On pensait qu'elle faisait partie de l'oeil de Ra, un collectif de déesses égyptiennes qui protégeaient Ra et combattaient ses ennemis.

Les femmes regardaient vers Bastet comme un symbole de la fertilité, et elle était souvent représentée avec une litière de chatons à ses pieds. Les femmes qui voulaient porter des enfants portaient un collier avec son image et le nombre de chatons qu'ils souhaitaient se traduirait en enfants dans leurs ménages.

Elle était la protectrice des jeunes pharaons, et elle aiderait occasionnellement à transporter les âmes mortes à Duat. Ses prêtres ont gardé des chats dans son temple, et quand ils sont morts, ils ont été momifiés et ont offert à Bastet de se protéger au lendemain. Il a été considéré comme un grave péché de maltraiter un chat dans l'Égypte ancienne, parce qu'ils étaient considérés comme des animaux sacrés et sous la protection directe de Bastet.

Le sistrum Bastet porte est traditionnellement porté par Hathor, montrant une connexion claire entre les deux déesses.

Bastet Quick Reference

Parents

Ra


Puissance / Domaine

Grossesse, jeunes pharaons et chats


Symboles / Attributs

  • Tête de chat
  • Sistrum - instrument de percussion
  • Litière de chatons

Mythes notables

  • Setha et Taboubu
  • Battle of Apep
  • Eye of Ra


https://www.storyboardthat.com/fr/mythology/bastet
© 2018 - Clever Prototypes, LLC - Tous les droits sont réservés.

Qu'est-ce que Storyboard That?

En savoir plus en choisissant ci-dessous:

Je suis ...

Aidez-nous à Partager Storyboard That!

Découvrez nos Articles et Exemples

Essayez nos Autres Sites Web!

Photos for Class - Search for School-Safe, Creative Commons Photos! ( Il Cite même pour vous! )
Quick Rubric - Facilement faire et partager les grandes rubriques de recherche!
Vous préférez une autre langue?

•   (English) Bastet   •   (Español) Bastet   •   (Français) Bastet   •   (Deutsch) Bastet   •   (Italiana) Bastet   •   (Nederlands) Bastet   •   (Português) Bastet   •   (עברית) באסט   •   (العَرَبِيَّة) باستت   •   (हिन्दी) Bastet   •   (ру́сский язы́к) Бастет   •   (Dansk) Bastet   •   (Svenska) Bastet   •   (Suomi) Bastet   •   (Norsk) Bastet   •   (Türkçe) Bastet   •   (Polski) Bastet   •   (Româna) Bastet   •   (Ceština) Bastet   •   (Slovenský) Bastet   •   (Magyar) Bastet   •   (Hrvatski) Bastet   •   (български) Бастет   •   (Lietuvos) Bastet   •   (Slovenščina) Bastet   •   (Latvijas) Bastet   •   (eesti) Bastett

https://www.storyboardthat.com/mythology/bastet

Bastet is the goddess of pregnancy, the protector of young pharaohs, and the goddess of cats. She is depicted with a cat’s head, and she is usually holding a sistrum.

Bastet was originally depicted as a lioness, but over the years, she became more small feline-like in her appearance. She also went from a vengeful goddess to a much more benign deity. In early years, she was associated with spreading plague as punishment, but this association disappeared over time, along with her appearance as a housecat. The Egyptians revered housecats because they took care of rats, mice, and other vermin. Most importantly, they also scared off snakes which helped protect crops and homes. In fact, Bastet was credited with killing Apep, a great serpent and evil archenemy of Ra. She was thought to be part of the Eye of Ra, a collective of Egyptian goddesses that protected Ra and battled his enemies.

Women looked to Bastet as a symbol of fertility, and she was often depicted with a litter of kittens at her feet. Women who wanted to bear children would wear a necklace with her image and the number of kittens they wished would translate into children in their households.

She was the protector of young pharaohs, and she occasionally would help transport the souls of the dead to Duat. Her priests kept cats in her temple, and when they died they were mummified and offered to Bastet to protect in the afterlife. It was considered a grave sin to mistreat a cat in ancient Egypt, because they were considered to be sacred animals and under Bastet’s direct protection.

The sistrum Bastet carries is traditionally carried by Hathor, showing a clear connection between the two goddesses.

Bastet Quick Reference

Parents

Ra


Power / Domain

Pregnancy, young pharaohs, and cats


Symbols / Attributes

  • cat's head
  • sistrum - percussion instrument
  • litter of kittens

Notable Myths

  • Setha and Taboubu
  • Battle of Apep
  • Eye of Ra

How Do I Use This?

The illustrated guide storyboards have easily digestible information with a visual to stimulate understanding and retention. Storyboard That is passionate about student agency, and we want everyone to be storytellers. Storyboards provide an excellent medium to showcase what students have learned, and to teach to others.

Student Presenting a Storyboard

Use these illustrated guides as a springboard for individual and class-wide projects!


  • Assign a term/person/event to each student to complete their own storyboard
  • Create your own illustrated guide of a topic you are studying
  • Create an illustrated guide to the people in your class or school
  • Post storyboards to class and school social media channels
  • Copy and edit these storyboards and use as references or visuals

Education Pricing

This pricing structure is only available to academic institutions. Storyboard That accepts purchase orders.

Single Teacher

Single Teacher

As low as /month

Start My Trial

Department

Department

As low as /month

Learn More

School

School/District

As low as /month

Learn More

*(This will start a 2-Week Free Trial - No Credit Card Needed)
Learn more about Egyptian, Norse, and Greek mythology!
View All Teacher Resources
https://www.storyboardthat.com/mythology/bastet
© 2020 - Clever Prototypes, LLC - All rights reserved.
Over 14 Million Storyboards Created
Storyboard That Family