Suche
  • Suche
  • Meine Storyboards
https://www.storyboardthat.com/de/biography/voltaire
x
Storyboard That Logo

Möchten Sie ein Storyboard wie dieses erstellen?

Erstellen Sie ein Storyboard

Probieren Sie Storyboard That!


Voltaire, geborener François-Marie Arouet, war ein französischer Philosoph und Schriftsteller während der Aufklärung des 18. Jahrhunderts. Voltaire war bekannt für seine Kritik an organisierter Religion und traditionellen Institutionen und für seine freimütige Unterstützung der freien Rede und anderer bürgerlicher Freiheiten.

Voltaire, geborener François-Marie Arouet, war ein französischer Philosoph und Schriftsteller während der Aufklärung des 18. Jahrhunderts. Voltaire war bekannt für seine Kritik an organisierter Religion und traditionellen Institutionen und für seine freimütige Unterstützung der freien Rede und anderer bürgerlicher Freiheiten. Zu seinen Zeitgenossen gehörten John Locke, Jonathan Swift, Alexander Pope und Jean-Jacques Rousseau.

Voltaire wurde 1694 zu einer Mittelklasse-Familie in Paris, Frankreich geboren. Er erhielt eine klassische Erziehung als Jugendlicher, brach aber vom jungen Erwachsenenalter von seiner Familie ab und liebte stattdessen den Einfluß seines Paten, des Abbé de Châteauneuf, der das freie Denken und das sinnliche Leben förderte. Obwohl Voltaire erwartet wurde, ein Anwalt zu werden, konzentrierte er seine Bemühungen stattdessen auf das Schreiben von Spielen, Gedichten, philosophischen Abhandlungen und historischen Arbeiten. Sein scharfer Witz und seine prägnanten Epigramme gewannen ihn bald in französischen Kreisen. Seine kühnen kommentiert ihm aber oft seine Bequemlichkeit und Sicherheit. Voltaire kritisierte die Bibel, die katholische Kirche, die französische Regierung und eine Anzahl persönlicher Feinde. Seine offensiven Bemerkungen landeten ihn zweimal im Bastille-Gefängnis und schickten ihn während seines ganzen Lebens mehrmals ins Exil.

Während seines Exils nach England von 1726-1729, Voltaire kam zu schätzen die vergleichende Freiheit der Rede von den Intellektuellen unter Englands konstitutionelle Monarchie genossen. Nach seiner Rückkehr nach Frankreich veröffentlichte er Lettres Philosophiques sur les Anglais , lobte das englische System und verdiente ihm weitere Exil. Er zog von Preußen, in die Schweiz, in mehrere Regionen Frankreichs während der restlichen langen Karriere. Überall, wo er hingegangen war, begrüßte er Besuche von den führenden Intellektuellen des Tages und setzte fort, neue Literatur zu veröffentlichen. Heute ist seine berühmteste Kurzarbeit die 1759 Novella Candide , die stark auf Ironie und Satire beruht, um die Philosophie des Optimismus zu kritisieren, die von seinem zeitgenössischen Gottfried Leibniz gefördert wird.

Voltaires allgemeine Philosophie war eine, die Grund über Tradition oder Aberglauben förderte. Wie Thomas Jefferson und Ben Franklin, war Voltaire ein Deist; Er glaubte an eine höhere Macht, kritisierte aber traditionelle religiöse Praktiken. Er förderte Fortschritte in den Wissenschaften und Künsten und benutzte seine Literatur und kulturelle Stellung, um soziale Reformen zu versuchen, faire Prüfungen, Freiheit der Meinungsäußerung und Religionsfreiheit zu fördern. Letztlich argumentierte Voltaire für erleuchtete Monarchien über Demokratie, aber seine philosophischen Beiträge beeinflussten die Führer der amerikanischen und der französischen Revolutionen im späten 18. Jahrhundert stark.


Storyboard That

Erstellen Sie Ihr eigenes Storyboard

Probieren Sie es kostenlos aus!

Erstellen Sie Ihr eigenes Storyboard

Probieren Sie es kostenlos aus!

Voltaire Zitate

Erfahren Sie mehr über Menschen, die die Geschichte beeinflusst haben, in unserem Illustrated Guide to Biographies!
Alle Lehrerressourcen Anzeigen
*(Dies wird eine 2-wöchige kostenlose Testversion starten - keine Kreditkarte erforderlich)
https://www.storyboardthat.com/de/biography/voltaire
© 2024 - Clever Prototypes, LLC - Alle Rechte vorbehalten.
StoryboardThat ist eine Marke von Clever Prototypes , LLC und beim US-Patent- und Markenamt eingetragen

https://www.storyboardthat.com/biography/voltaire

Voltaire, born François-Marie Arouet, was a French philosopher and writer during the 18th century Enlightenment. Voltaire was known for his criticism of organized religion and traditional institutions and for his outspoken support of free speech and other civil liberties.

Voltaire

Voltaire, born François-Marie Arouet, was a French philosopher and writer during the 18th century Enlightenment. Voltaire was known for his criticism of organized religion and traditional institutions and for his outspoken support of free speech and other civil liberties. His contemporaries included John Locke, Jonathan Swift, Alexander Pope, and Jean-Jacques Rousseau.

Voltaire was born in 1694 to a middle class family in Paris, France. He received a classical education as a youth, but broke away from his family by young adulthood, preferring instead the influence of his godfather, the Abbé de Châteauneuf, who promoted free thinking and sensual living. Although Voltaire was expected to become a lawyer, he focused his efforts instead on writing plays, poems, philosophical treatises, and historical works. His sharp wit and pithy epigrams soon won him acclaim in French circles. His bold comments, however, often cost him his comfort and safety. Voltaire was strongly critical of the Bible, the Catholic Church, the French government, and a number of personal enemies. His offensive remarks landed him in the Bastille prison twice and sent him into exile several times throughout his life.

During his exile to England from 1726-1729, Voltaire came to appreciate the comparative freedom of speech enjoyed by the intellectuals under England’s constitutional monarchy. Upon his return to France, he published Lettres Philosophiques sur les Anglais, praising the English system and earning him further exile. He moved from Prussia, to Switzerland, to several regions of France throughout the rest of his long career. Everywhere he went, he welcomed visits from the leading intellectuals of the day and continued to publish new literature. Today, his most famous short work is the 1759 novella Candide, which relies heavily on irony and satire to criticize the philosophy of Optimism, promoted by his contemporary Gottfried Leibniz.

Voltaire’s general philosophy was one that promoted reason above tradition or superstition. Like Thomas Jefferson and Ben Franklin, Voltaire was a deist; he believed in a higher power, but criticized traditional religious practices. He encouraged progress in the sciences and arts, and used his literature and cultural standing to attempt social reform, promoting fair trials, freedom of expression, and freedom of religion. Ultimately, Voltaire argued for enlightened monarchies over democracy, but his philosophical contributions strongly influenced the leaders of both the American and the French Revolutions in the late 18th century.


Voltaire Quotes

I disapprove of what you say, but will defend to the death your right to say it.

Every abuse ought to be reformed, unless the reform is more dangerous than the abuse itself.

All people are equal, it is not birth, it is virtue alone that makes the difference.

How Do I Use This?

The picture encyclopedia storyboards have easily digestible information with a visual to stimulate understanding and retention. Storyboard That is passionate about student agency, and we want everyone to be storytellers. Storyboards provide an excellent medium to showcase what students have learned, and to teach to others.

Student Presenting a Storyboard

Use these encyclopedias as a springboard for individual and class-wide projects!


  • Assign a term/person/event to each student to complete their own storyboard
  • Create your own picture encyclopedia of a topic you are studying
  • Create a picture encyclopedia to the people in your class or school
  • Post storyboards to class and school social media channels
  • Copy and edit these storyboards and use as references or visuals
Learn more about people who have influenced history in our Picture Encyclopedia!
*(This will start a 2-Week Free Trial - No Credit Card Needed)
https://www.storyboardthat.com/biography/voltaire
© 2021 - Clever Prototypes, LLC - All rights reserved.